Back at School!

August 16, 2009 at 2:46 pm (School)

I can’t believe my summer is already over!  Somehow, this was definitely the shortest summer I have had in a long time!

Anyway, Nickel and I left MA on Friday, arriving at my grandparents’ about 9 hours later – there was some ridiculous construction going on in PA that made the traffic crazy.  Then, yesterday, I took off for school on my own.  And guess what?  There was traffic.  My 3-hour journey turned into a 5.5 hour journey.  Not going to be making that again anytime soon!

Oh, and did I mention that it was approximately 80-some degrees yesterday evening when I unpacked the entire car by myself and hauled it all up to our room on the third floor?  So much fun.  But at least the room is nice and large – and the bathroom is nice – with a fabulous shower and even a window!

But I’m here!  And it’s a bit lonely – I’m ready for el boyo and roomie to come join me on campus.

It turns out that my job is very very limited, actually.  There’s an intro thing this afternoon that I’m going to, and then have dinner with some of the freshmen, then help out with the scavenger hunt.  Then tomorrow and Tuesday, I just have to check in on my two classes and make sure everyone is there.  Oh, and take attendance for another event Tuesday night.  But that’s it.  And of course, be there for any students that might be having problems, since the RAs and OAs are still in training for most of the time.

So yea, not much going on.

In other news, I went out with my grandfather yesterday morning before I left and got more memory and a new – bigger! – hard drive for my laptop!  So now I’m just hoping that the tech people here at school can help me install them and transfer everything over…  But they’re not open until tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

