Post-Pillowman

February 16, 2009 at 11:21 pm (Friends, School)

As some of you may know, during this last week, I was ever-so-slightly busy working on The Pillowman, which was essentially the senior thesis for all of the theater majors, including el boyo.  Basically, they chose the play, designed the sets, lighting, costumes, etc, cast the parts, directed the scenes, stage managed, and so on and so forth, with very little help from faculty.  It was sink or swim.

And swim they did!  The show was fantastic!  It’s essentially a really dark comedy.  After watching it a few times, it is definitely much funnier than it first appears.  I really hope the video comes out well.

So what was my part, considering I am not a theater major?  Well, el boyo roped me into operating the sound board, which consisted of sitting in the booth and pushing the “GO!” button for each of the sound cues, as well as turning the main character’s mic on and off (before he had the chance to pull the plug and broadcast static!).  Loads of fun, not too much responsibility.

Which is why I’m sad it’s over.

Yes, it sucked up huge chunks of my time (i.e. 6 hours a night for rehearsal; 4-5 hours for shows) during which I was able to achieve many unproductive things (such as spend an unhealthy amount of time reading my blogs and using StumbleUpon).  Yes, I was completely unable to do any work in the dark booth with the show distracting me at every turn.  Yes, I only did it for a week and could have gone slightly bonkers if I had to work on it for too much longer.

Yet, at the same time….

It was a fabulous group of people to work with.  I didn’t have to deal with any scary faculty people (I love them in small doses, but sometimes…).  It was a fun play!  And fun people!  And it was just a good time!

Thus, I miss it already.

Though I certainly don’t miss the time that el boyo spent on it.

Leave a Reply

