Timed Out

December 11, 2008 at 8:33 pm (Uncategorized)

Ok, I know I haven’t posted in a long while, and I promise that I will start posting things of some substance as soon as finals are over, but for now, bear with me as I rant for a bit before returning to my studies.

Why do the most mundane sites have your sessions time out after an arbitrary amount of time? Seriously, ARTstor just told me that I timed out “for my safety”*. What in the world would I have to protect on ARTstor? They don’t sell anything, so they’re not protecting me from someone stealing my credit card information. I never gave them my address or anything like that – I don’t even think they have my real name – nothing but my email address, so they’re not protecting me from stalkers or people trying to steal my identity. So why sign me out? I’m serious. Does anyone know?

It’s the same with the university’s library website. My searches time out after like 5 minutes. What the heck is that saving me from? Being embarrassed that I’m doing research? All it does is aggravate me.

So, if you can, please illuminate me as to why these harmless sites insist on making my life harder by logging me out every 5 minutes.

*Edit:  It just timed me out again, and for the sake of accuracy, I must point out that it actually says it’s for my “protection”, not safety.  But still.  C’mon.

Leave a Reply

