Post-Thanksgiving Wrap-Up

November 30, 2008 at 11:31 pm (Concord, Family, Holidays, Vacation)

I’ve been up since 5am and am tired and still have a bit of work to do, so this shall be short.

Tuesday – I went to Latin and handed in my paper that I had been up until 3am finishing.  Got back to my room, started packing, checked to see if there was an earlier train, there was one ticket available, so I grabbed it.  Met Ryan and his dad and uncle for lunch, went to the library to find some good pleasure reading for the train while Ryan went to class, then got a ride from them to the train station.  Ended up waiting at the train station for an extra hour before getting on the train.  Ended up sitting next to a friend from school.  Additional issues in DC meant the train was over an hour and a half late – but still earlier than my original train!

Wednesday – Tried on my cotillion dress to make sure it still fit for Ring Dance in February, which it did perfectly.  It actually might fit better, because I can actually take a deep breath in it, and I can’t remember if I was able to do that before, but I bet I was.  Anyway, it made me really excited to wear it again.  Went to the airport early with my bro to see if we could get on standby for the earlier flight that my grandparents were on, but since it was the day before Thanksgiving, that was a no-go.  Got to ogle all the midshipmen from the Naval Academy for a few hours though 😛  Also had the pleasure of making awkward conversation with my brother for about an hour while we grabbed something to eat before our plane.  Got home safe and sound, very happy.

Thursday – Thanksgiving, of course!  Slept in, didn’t go to the high school traditional football game (we lost horribly, btw).  Instead, set up my firewood supply for the weekend and started a fire that I kept going all day.  Finished the book I got out of the UR library (The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society – I HIGHLY recommend it!!!).  Started and finished Twilight again.  Ate a delicious Thanksgiving dinner around 5pm (Dad wanted it at 1, but we turned off the oven to sabotage this break in his sanity).

Friday – Slept in again, got up, started a fire, went to Twilight with Sarah, who loved it (and I think I enjoyed it more the second time around, for the record).  Basically veged all day in front of the fire otherwise.

Saturday – Same as Friday except Sarah and I went to High School Musical 3 instead of Twilight.  Nickel and Sarah both had friends over for dinner (my friend bailed *cough cough* 😉 ).  Yummy food.  I had been sneezing a lot earlier with watery eyes, and when even a shower didn’t stop it, I took some Benedryl, so I was super sleepy in the evening, and ended up going to bed early, though with the party going on downstairs, I didn’t actually get to sleep for a while.  Turned out to be good that I went to bed early, since I rescheduled my return trip, taking out the plane + train, and replacing it with just a plane.  At 7am.  Meaning I had to get up at 5 am.

Sunday – Got up at 5am.  Made it into the city just as the rain was starting, which meant all the subsequent flights were delayed of course.  Made it back to school by noon, where I have been happily procrastinating all day, and now really want to go to bed, but still have some journal entries to write.  I’ll probably write one tonight, and the rest tomorrow morning, since I’ll be waking early since I’ll be bedding early.  As in, before midnight.

Quick note: Sarah found out today that she didn’t get accepted into her early decision school, Elon.  Fingers crossed for the 3 others she applied to early action!  Hopefully, I’ll actually be home with her when those decisions come in, since I know she was devastated by this first one, even though she knew there wasn’t too much of a chance.

Leave a Reply

