Adventures in the Twilight Zone

November 23, 2008 at 3:56 pm (Movies)

Sorry, Olivia, this isn’t that Twilight Zone, but rather the Twilight zone.

On Friday, Twilight came out in theaters.  My professor in my Victorian Fantasy class had mentioned to us earlier in the semester that she was writing a paper to present at a conference about the Twilight books, so of course someone brought up the movie.  And then we proceeded to spend the first 20 minutes or so of class discussing Twilight the books vs the movie and who had plans to see it and whatnot.  And at the end of the discussion, my fabulous professor said that if we could figure out a way to connect Twilight and what we have been reading in this whole semester, not just this past week, then that can be our topic for our weekly response paper!  I have found my people!

As a result of this discussion, I was invited to go see the movie that afternoon, which I of course accepted.  I had an art history test until 3:30 (which I bombed), and the movie was set to play at 4:10, so we rushed out and arrived after the 4:10 deadline, but were still able to get tickets and found seats in time to watch the last trailer.

The theater was packed!  We had anticipated that even though it was opening day, since it was still the afternoon, there wouldn’t be that many people there.  Boy, were we wrong!  We were lucky to get 3 seats together in the last row though.

The movie itself was enjoyable, though many times laughably ridiculous.  It was a lot of fun to see it with such a large audience of swooning teenage girls who would shout “Oh my god!” when a hot guy/vampire would come on the screen and other such fun comments.  There was also a little girl who, during certain scenes that were so serious as to be funny, and the whole theater would be laughing, would say, “It’s not funny!” But, in fact, it was quite funny.

I don’t want to give too much of the movie away, so I’ll stick with saying this: I wasn’t sure how much I liked it when I was leaving the theater, but in the intervening hours I have thought it over and decided that I think I liked it and might need to see it again to really decide.  So maybe I’ll take all you study-abroaders to the theater over Christmas…

2 Comments

  1. tex said,

    WHAT?!?!?! IT’S ALREADY OUT?!?!!? i thought it was supposed to come out on Dec. 12th!!!! ahhhh! (though i am seriously considering re-christening my silver volvo “Edward”)

  2. Kathleen said,

    I think they moved it up when Harry Potter moved to next summer.

Leave a Reply

