The Education Journal Saga

October 12, 2008 at 6:08 pm (Homework, School, Writing)

My goal for this October break was to catch up on my journal for my Foundations of Education class. We are supposed to do a journal entry for every single article or portion of a book that we read, ergo we have one or two journal entries per class period. Of course, this is in addition to the actual material that we have to read and a notecard that we have to bring to class to hand in that has a question, a quote, and a fact from the reading to start discussion. Because of all of this (not to mention my other homework), I have put off doing the journal until now, since the first installment is due on Friday.

Having spent all day yesterday vegging out on my makeshift couch, I knew I needed to at least start doing some entries today.  Based on the list I had made (in order that I might have the pleasure of physically crossing them off when finished), I knew I had about 20 entries to do.  I figured that each entry would take me about 15 or 20 minutes to do, since I had my notcards and all the highlighting I had done when reading them initially.

What I did not take into account, however, was me.

I have just now finished the first two journal entries.  For the first one, I held myself back and only wrote 420 words.  For the second one, I wrote 702 words.  I even incorporated quotes into each of them!  This took me over an hour, easy.  And now I still have how many more to do?  I am seriously not looking forward to doing the rest.

Except that I am.  Except that I’m not.

I mean, I really enjoy discussing these topics.  And that’s part of the problem.  I have so much to say, especially because these are sensitive issues we are discussing, and thus everyone has an opinion.  And I’m a good student.  And I think too much.  Why oh why can’t I be a slacker?  I want to be able to dash off something in ten minutes and be satisfied with it.  I have numerous examples of projects in the past when I have done an adequate job in my eyes, and gotten an A for my troubles, and then seen classmates’ A projects, which have half the effort.  Why can’t I be like that?  Not over-achieving, not under-achieving, just achieving.  Kinda like being whelmed.

Can anyone help me?  Please?

Leave a Reply

