Why My Parents Won’t Get Me A Car

October 5, 2008 at 11:15 pm (Death, Family)

It being Sunday, I had my weekly call with my parents.  The whole conversation was mostly filled with mundane things, until the end.  My parents told me that my great aunt was in a car accident recently and was in the hospital for a few days – her health wasn’t too good to begin with.  She escaped with nothing worse than a broken arm, but for her, that is much worse than for most people.  That’s because she only has one arm (and has had only one for most of her life – it wasn’t the result of this accident).  And the doctors say that she won’t heal fully for about a year.

Imagine not having function of your arms!  I don’t know about you, but I would go crazy.  Especially since it’s for a determined period of time, and not forever or anything.  I mean, if it were for forever, then you would adapt everything eventually and get on with your life.  But when its for a certain amount of time, you’d just get anxious for the time when you can regain use of your arms (or arm, in this case) again!

And the other good news that came along with this was that one of my dad’s classmates from high school was killed in a car crash recently.

So that, ladies and gentlemen of the jury, is why my parents aren’t too keen on my getting a car anytime soon (and the bad economy, and the fact that they aren’t here to help me buy one, and the price of gas – but those are negligible, don’t you think?)

1 Comment

  1. Ryan said,

    Wow , no kidding…a scary reminder of what can happen

Leave a Reply

