I Gots a Job!

September 6, 2008 at 9:04 pm (Happy, UR, Work)

Earlier this week, I had scoped out the Student Employment website for some sort of interesting job that I could potentially use to fill up some of my time here and recoup some of the moolah I spent getting myself home.  I emailed a few different options that looked interesting to me, simply asking if the position was still open and if so how might I apply for it, and received one reply.  And got one interview.  And got one job.  Yey!

As of 10:15ish Friday morning, I am the newest employee of UR’s Digital Scholarship Lab (DSL).  Don’t worry if you’ve never heard of it; it’s less than a year old.  I am terrible at explaining what it is the DSL does, so here’s the snippet from their website:

The Digital Scholarship Lab develops new digital tools and pedagogies for research and teaching, maintains a unique university digital resource network, fosters the research of students and faculty, and cultivates strategic partnerships with appropriate institutions and individuals. Serving as an incubator for new ideas and exploration, the Lab is a place for developing new digital projects and techniques that will enhance scholarship and teaching at [UR] and beyond.

Sweet, no?  I got to see some of the really neat interactive projects they’ve been working on (which I thought they had told me were already online, but for the life of me, I cannot find where).  Recently, they’ve been focusing on the 1800s, since our fabulous university president is going to be giving a speech on Lincoln in October and wants to be able to use some of the DSL’s stuff to enhance his speech/lecture/thingy.  Thus, my job, for now, is going to be even more mind-numbing than the job this summer was, as I will be finding articles online and adding them to the DSL database so the program the DSL has developed can comb through it for keywords and such, which then get turned into tag cloud-type things.  Pretty cool end result, even if my part in it isn’t exactly glamorous…  Though the dude did promise me that it would get more exciting as we get further along!  Either way, I think it’s really really cool and am really excited to be involved!  AND I might be able to apply some of this stuff to my major/thesis!  Yey!

Leave a Reply

