Move-in Day

August 26, 2008 at 1:56 pm (Lille, Study Abroad) (, , )

Monday was move-in day for me.

My uncle and I got up around 7:15, took quick showers, grabbed breakfast at the hotel (love the bread here!) and headed to the school to check in right as they opened at 8:30.  The check-in process went fairly smoothly, and before I knew it, I had my key to the dorm!

My uncle and I went back towards the hotel, hoping to find a cell phone store on the way, but, in classic French fashion, nothing really opens until 10am, and it was still 9am, so we decided to just hang out until the shops opened before moving my stuff to the dorm and having to return to the store we had found.  Finally, the store opened, and the only sales associate who could speak English was busy, so we took a look around ourselves, found some information, and decided to go to another store just to compare prices.  At the other store, we found someone who spoke English really well, which was necessary because my uncle is the one who knows everything about phones, and so he was the one asking the questions about everything.  We found a good pay-as-you-go phone and added a good number of minutes to hold me for a bit.

Finally, it was time to move to the dorm.  My key lets me both into the front door and into my room, so I don’t have to worry about losing one or the other and being stuck (though of course if I lose that one key, I am really up a creek without a paddle!).  We discovered that my room is on the fifth floor, which was sooo much fun when it came to moving my bags up and into my room!

Concerning facilities, there are 2 toilets on my floor, we have to go downstairs one level to take a shower, and everyone has a sink in their room.  There is no air-flow in the rooms, so while I am in my room, I keep the window open all the time, but I’m not sure what I’ll do during the winter…

Here are some pictures of my oh-so-lovely room, including a close-up of my fabulous desk (aka a board on two sawhorses, essentially), and the view from my window:

1 Comment

  1. el-boyo said,

    look at that huge jar of nutella 😀

Leave a Reply

