Last Full Day in the States!

August 22, 2008 at 1:42 am (Books, Family, Friends, Movies, Study Abroad, Summer)

Wow, I seriously cannot believe that this day is here already.  I’m leaving in like 20 hours!  And I get to take more stuff with me than I thought!  Yey!

But let me start at the beginning…

My mother and I ran around today like chickens with our heads chopped off, trying to get enough Euros for me to take with me to pay my first month of rent in cash like the crazy French request.  We cleaned out two different AAA places while also managing to go to some other stores to pick up all those last minute crazy things that you never realize you need until the very last second.  And we still have to go out again tomorrow before I head to the airport around 4pm.

After we finally return from our epic trip around the greater Boston area, I get to start finishing packing.  On Tuesday, I had actually packed the vast majority of my clothes, sans what I have needed in the past few days.  Tonight I had the explicit joy of having both my parents hover over me as I try to finish packing everything else, with much undesired commentary.  As I believe I have mentioned before, I like my alone time.  I know I won’t see my parents for a while, but that does not mean that I need them hanging on to me every second of my last days with them.  In fact, it really does not help their cases any.

Oh, and on that point, my father and my mother and I had a lovely discussion at dinner tonight in which my father expressed his complete uncomprehending disbelief that my mother and I do not feel comfortable simply chatting with a stranger under any circumstances, whether it be waiting in line somewhere or at a cocktail party where you are actually supposed to make random conversation and mingle.  He simply could not understand how we could possibly be uncomfortable with this.  He has been married to my mother for 24 years and known me my entire life and still has not grasped this innate truth about the two of us.  It is simply beyond his comprehension capacity as it is a totally alien concept to him.

Anyway, to resume:  while packing, I had had the foresight to purchase some of those fabulous vacuum bags that you suck all the air out of in order to cram more stuff in a tight space (hint: Linens ‘N Things declared bankrupcy and so are closing down some stores, which means lovely sales!).  As a result of these wonderful creations, I am able to bring some semblance of a bed set instead of having to figure out crazy French stores on my very first day in Lille!  Of course, I can’t bring everything, but I can bring enough to get me through a few days (or weeks…) as long as the weather doesn’t suddenly take a turn for the worse.  This was a very, very happy discovery!  And, my bags are still under 50lbs!  Yey!

After finally kicking my parents out and finishing what I could for the night, I settled down to finally watch a movie that I ordered from interlibrary loan way back in May!  It finally came in last week, and this was my first chance to actually sit down and watch it.  The name of the film is The Ultimate Gift based on a book by the same name.  It’s a feel-good, inspirational movie/book, but that doesn’t mean it’s cheesy.  I mean, it is, but not really.  Just watch it.  And it’s Drew Fuller.  And he’s amazing!  And James Gardner.  And Abigal Breslin.  So just go find it somewhere and watch it – trust me, you won’t regret it!  (And now I feel like some cheesy, creepy salesman.  Fabulous.)

So that was my last full day in the States.  Tomorrow, I’m getting up early and having some friends over, then running some errands, and then heading to the airport!  I’ll try to update y’all as soon an possible!  Au revoir!

Leave a Reply

