Jumping on the Bandwagon and Hitching it to France

August 18, 2008 at 2:46 pm (Books, Study Abroad, Summer) (, , , , , , , , )

Last night I was up until 2:00am exactly reading Breaking Dawn.  In the afternoon, I sat down and read Eclipse in about 4 hours since I had only started it previously but had never finished it and figured I should read it before I went on to the last one in the series.  Those books are better than I remembered, and an enjoyable quick read.  I’m not sure I completely understand the total obsession with Edward as the heartthrob-to-end-all-heartthrobs, considering I just want to be Bella simply to have her powers, not necessarily to have Edward.  To be completely honest, I think Edward is a bit annoying.

Anyways, in other news, we are still trying to work out all the housing stuff for France, seeing as how I’m going to be moving in this time next week…  There are some definite drawbacks to being the first one to enter a program, and it certainly doesn’t help to have a rookie study abroad advisor at my home school who seems to have even less of an idea of what’s going on than I do.

The most exciting thing to happen this weekend was that i got to play with a Sony Reader.  Recently, I’ve been salivating over Amazon’s Kindle, but have not had the chance to actually touch one since no one I know owns one and, considering Amazon is totally online, there’s nowhere I can go to test one.  Thus, it was sooooo cool to actually be able to touch/handle/play with a Sony Reader even though I didn’t know too much about it.  I really liked the design and ease of use, but since I have read so much about the Kindle, I was constantly comparing the two.  At least now I know that I really really do want one.  Of course, I would need unlimited funds to use it as I would like to, since they cost between $300 and $400 each, not to mention that books are $5-$10.  So in order to fill the Sony Reader with 160 books, as they advertise, I would have to be able to spend about $2,000, which, as a poor student who is about to go to expensive Europe for a few months, is nowhere near a good idea.  (And for the record, I would get the Kindle over the Reader even though I have not experienced the former, simply because it has more capabilities for only about $50 more.)

PS I know the title of this post doesn’t make sense, but it popped into my head, so bear with me 😀

2 Comments

  1. Monster Librarian said,

    I am finishing Twilight tonight. Fun series to be reading. Picking up where I left off with Interviews w/ a Vampire thing I had going back in high school. 🙂

  2. Kathleen said,

    Ah, yes. Anne Rice. Definitely did a book report on Interview in high school English. Let me know what you think of the rest of the Twilight series, as it definitely builds on itself

Leave a Reply

