Finally, Something to Do (And More Books – YEY!)

May 26, 2008 at 12:18 am (Books, Family, Summer, Work)

Yesterday was a fabulous day because I actually got to do some work! One of my mom’s co-workers at the library is on vacation all week, and so, knowing that I have been bored stiff with nothing to do, she called me at around 11am Saturday morning to see if I wanted to come in and help – which I absolutely did! I got to work for 2 hours processing books, which essentially meant creating the identifying labels for the sides of the books, stamping the library’s name and the date on the first page, and taping down the plastic-covered book sleeves. After all this, the books are completely ready to be put on the shelf and read! What this means for me is that I get first dibs on all the books in the library, essentially, which couldn’t make me happier! 😀

Thus, at the risk of turning this blog into a running reading list, here is the most recent haul from the new books I processed on Saturday (and if I get permission from my mom’s boss to continue all this week, expect a few more similar lists!)

  • People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks is a book my mom actually pulled for herself, finished reading, and promptly gave it to me, since she knew I would love it. Essentially, a rare book conservator is called in to work on an extremely rare Hebrew book, and traces its history through tiny clues she finds. I’m about 50 pages in and loving it!
  • The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson is an example of me going into dangerous soap-opera territory with a book about a teenager who wakes up from a coma with no memory and has to work to regain her sense of identity. It seems a bit like another trashy YA book, but is actually supposed to be a really interesting exploration of the concept of identity. I’ll let you know which it is.
  • The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen is another self-discovery book that breaks my rule, but it looks like a nice book without too much drama or self-imposed importance. I’m not sure how to describe it, especially since I haven’t started it yet, so I’ll just let you look at Amazon’s description.
  • The Moneypenny Diaries by Kate Westbrook was a book I, a lifelong James Bond fan, simply could not pass up! There’s not much I can say about it beyond what the title implies to anyone familiar with the 007 series/franchise (and if you’re not – have you been living under a rock?!), but I’ll let you know if it’s worth reading!
  • The Enchantress of Florence by Salman Rushdie is “the story of a woman attempting to command her own destiny in a man’s world. It is the story of two cities, unknown to each other, at the height of their powers–the hedonistic Mughal capital, in which the brilliant Akbar the Great wrestles daily with questions of belief, desire, and the treachery of his sons, and the equally sensual city of Florence during the High Renaissance, where Niccolò Machiavelli takes a starring role as he learns, the hard way, about the true brutality of power.” It’s so new, there aren’t even any reviews on Amazon at the time of this writing! I have high hopes for this one, and I’ll let you know if it can live up to my high expectations 😀
  • Relentless Pursuit: A Year in the Trenches With Teach For America by Donna Foote is my one non-fiction book this time around. Having had a peripheral interest in Teach for America for a while now, I figured it would be interesting to read about someone who has actually been there and done that. If it’s not written well, though, I may not make it through…

And that’s it for now! Well, now I just have to read them…. Oh darn. 😀

1 Comment

  1. Librarian Burglars « Save Me From the Cold said,

    […] Summer, Work) Tonight I went to the library with my mom to finish up some work.  As I may have mentioned earlier, I have been working for the past week as the library’s processor since the normal processor […]

Leave a Reply

