Comments in Translation

May 12, 2008 at 10:03 pm (Writing)

I came across the following table in the May/June 2004 issue of Poets & Writers magazine. It translates other writers’ comments for when you go to a writing workshop. Quite useful!

.

WHAT A WRITER SAYS WHAT A WRITER MEANS

.

“I loved the language” English was a good choice

.

“This is very ambitious writing” You really aren’t good enough to pull this off

.

“The prose is very clear and concise” You wouldn’t know a metaphor if it bit you on the ass

.

“I thoroughly enjoyed reading this” It made me feel much better about my own writing

.

“This is very unusual and original work” You frighten me a little

.

“This story shares similar themes with your other work” Please stop writing about your relationship with your father

.

“It’s very confident writing” You’re completely deluded, aren’t you?

.

“This needs to be pushed further” Like off your desk and into the trash

.

“I don’t like the title” I didn’t actually read your story

.

“I love the title” I didn’t actually read your story

.

“This is very polished” Plagiarizing again?

.

“There’s not enough at stake here” But I’d sure like to burn your story on one

.

“This is the best thing I’ve ever read” Will you sleep with me?

.

“This is brilliant” Please?
1 Comment

  1. Makena Ringera said,

    In defense of writers, we pick up this kind of standard commentary from other more-knowledgeable writers. Being sophisticated. Ooops!

Leave a Reply

