This Is How It Happened (not a love story)

May 11, 2008 at 9:58 pm (Books, Happy, Summer)

This afternoon, I had the pleasure of going to my local library and checking out 6 books (5 of which are new, and thus due in 2 weeks, so I felt I should limit myself).  I got a nice selection of chick lit, suspense, drama, and inspirational/deep books so that if one bored me, I wouldn’t have to rely on the same type of book to switch to.  And guess what?  I’ve already finished one!

It’s called This Is How It Happened (not a love story) and is written by Jo Barrett.  Essentially, our heroine, Madeline Jane Piatro was recently dumped by her boyfriend of four years, Carlton.  Now she wants revenge.  How many books have you read in which a woman cooks arsenic brownies and ends up poisoning herself because she can’t withstand the scrumptious smell of the homemade chocolate brownies fresh out of the oven?  Seriously, it’s a really fun book; the author has a great style, and it flows really fast (i.e. I read it in about 2 hours flat and didn’t want to put it down).  I highly recommend it if you are looking for a fluffy summer read!

I’ll let you know how the others ones turn out.  For reference (or if you’d like to read them with me), the others are:

  • Three Cups of Tea: One Man’s Mission to Promote Peace… One School at a Time by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin.  True story about a man who has built 55 schools – especially for girls – in Pakistan and Afghanistan over the past fifteen years
  • The Theory of Clouds by Stephane Audeguy.  This is “a novel of clouds – both historical and imaginative – how they shape our passions, our storms, our stories”.  Having not started it, I’m afraid I can’t even attempt to describe what else it is about, but it looks really interesting
  • The Seduction of the Crimson Rose by Lauren Willig.  This is the fourth book in the series that started with The Secret History of the Pink Carnation – total chick lit historical fiction books that I love!  Spies and love in the Napoleonic era!
  • Ex-Libris by Ross King.  Yet another historical fiction book about finding a long-lost book in “a treacherous game of underworld spies and smugglers, ciphers and forgeries”!  How could I possibly resist?
  • No Time for Goodbye by Linwood Barclay.  This is a suspense/thriller novel about a 14-year old girl who wakes up one day to find her entire family gone without a trace.  Fast-forward 25 years, and the girl is now grown up and married, but still searching for answers.  But, of course, those answers are very dangerous…
1 Comment

  1. How To Write a Bestseller « Save Me From the Cold said,

    […] went to my fantastic local library looking for another stack of books to read, having decimated my previous one.  Last time, I was able to find a fantastic group of books from just the first of four bookshelves […]

Leave a Reply

