Differing Opinions on Writing

March 26, 2008 at 9:49 pm (School, Vienna, Writing)

My professor for my Vienna class loves to bleed all over students’ papers.  And she’s a math professor.  Go figure.  Anyway, at the beginning of the semester, she was absolutely in love with my writing.  Now, she’s [trying to] telling me how I should write my papers.  And she found one sentence in my last paper that she thought was absolutely beautiful, and wants me to try to write more like it.  The sentence was: “Through poetry and diary entries written on and around her wedding day, Elisabeth [Empress of Austria at the end of the 19th century] expressed her already-growing discontent with her limited freedom.”  Now, is it just me, or is that sentence kinda mundane?  I don’t see anything particularly special about it, do you?

Also, apparently long sentences are bad.  Sorry lady, but I tend to be quite verbose with long, complex sentences whenever possible.  Don’t worry, I vary my length to make it interesting, but I do write long sentences when occasion calls for it.  It’s fun!  You should try it sometime rather than trying to quash someone else’s writing style!

Leave a Reply

