Pre-law List = Bad

February 18, 2008 at 4:19 pm (Rants, School)

A while ago, I signed up for a Pre-law school email list here at the university.  Since then, I haven’t received too many emails, but the ones I have received have irritated me for one major reason:  I can’t go to any of the events they advertise for!  Mostly, this is because they seem to schedule every single event for 7pm on Wednesday evenings, apparently figuring that absolutely everyone must be free on Wednesday evenings, and it wouldn’t even cross their tiny minds to even consider that some people might work then, or, God forbid, have a class!  I fall into the latter category of having a class every Wednesday evening from 7 to 9:40pm.  Which means I cannot attend any of their precious meetings or videos or anything of remote interest to me.  I had thought that, having been to law school, the professor who runs the mailing list, would recognize that sometimes people have previous commitments and perhaps a nice plethora of available options for program times would be useful.  But no, we can’t do that!  If you want to go to law school, then you must be free on Wednesday nights at 7pm.

…unless you’re a minority student of course.  Did I mention that I can’t go to any of these programs for either one or both of two reasons?  The first being stated above, and the second being the fact that many of these programs are only for minority students.  So I’m screwed because a) I actually attend class and b) I happen to be white.  Lovely.  Thank you for discriminating against me.  I can’t wait to go to law school and sue all of you for that and make you cry.  Oh, and did I mention that I keep getting reminders for the minority group outings?  Thank you so much for rubbing it in my face that there are special programs and trips with interesting topics and destinations that I am not allowed to go on thanks to the color of my skin.  I thought we were working towards getting rid of racism in this country?  Oh, sorry, I must have missed the part where discrimination is allowed against you as long as you’re white.  Thanks for clearing that up.  I certainly won’t make that mistake again.

Leave a Reply

