You Learn Something New Everyday

January 31, 2008 at 2:45 pm (Writing Center)

When I took the class to become a writing tutor, we were taught that even if you don’t have an appointment, you need to stay in the Writing Center in case there are walk-ins.  Thus, even if you finish an appointment early, you were supposed to stick around until the end of the hour.  But of course there are never any walk-ins, so most people leave.  Not having too much else to do, I’ve always stuck around in the Writing Center as I felt I was supposed to do.

Today, however, I’m sitting in the Writing Center (whence I am writing this post) and the director of the Writing Center comes out and reveals that if no one shows up after about 15 minutes, we’re allowed to leave!  So rather than having to be here for 2 full hours doing nothing, I can leave 15 minutes after the hour.  Having no life, I figure I’ll wait till 15 minutes after the second hour starts, thus fulfilling my commitment for both hours and letting my conscious rest easy.

The question now is: do I go back to my room at 3:15 until I have to come back here for my French drill at 4:45 or do I hang out in the library between 3:15 and 4:45?  Decisions, decisions…

Leave a Reply

