Class #5

January 16, 2008 at 11:22 pm (School)

I finally had the last of my original five classes of this semester tonight, The Built Environment.  It wasn’t really what I expected, but I’m going to stick with it.  The professor is really good, really personable.  It definitely won’t be a dull class, which is absolutely necessary considering it is only one night a week for 2 hours and 40 minutes.  The focus of the class is going to be on green and sustainable living, i.e. ways in which humans can interact with nature without doing more damage than we have already done, and perhaps moving towards correcting the damage we have done.  Apparently, “It’s too late to be pessimistic.” 

 Now, I am definitely not a tree-hugger in any sense of the word, and normally avoid these types of issues, but I really think this class will be interesting and I can learn a lot from it.  We are moving into such a ‘green’ world, that it is better to know about it than simply be ignorant and avoid it.  Though, if the professor weren’t as good as he seems from this first class, and didn’t say that he doesn’t mind us disagreeing and all that jazz, then I think I would drop it pretty quickly, since I don’t want to partake in a propaganda machine.  But the atmosphere of the class is really promising, and there promises to be a lot of interactivity, which is important to me.  There will be a lot of work involved, including reading about a hundred pages or so a week and writing 500-word responses to them, plus a midterm and final, plus a final group project, with 20-page individual papers, and a 20-minute PowerPoint presentation.  That seems a lot more overwhelming right now than it did in class.  But I’ll suck it up and do it.  Yey, my first semester with 20 page papers expected of me, and I have 2!  This is fabulous.  I can’t wait to see how much stress I’m under my the end of this term.  Plus the stress of worrying about studying abroad.  And everything that goes along with that.  This is just lovely.  I really need to stop stressing myself out so much before I go to bed.  Fabulous.

Leave a Reply

