First Day of Classes

January 14, 2008 at 11:20 pm (School, UR, Vienna)

Today was the first day of classes for the spring semester, and it’s off to a great start!  I love 2 of my classes, and am waiting to pass judgement for a few days on the other one I had today.  I have another class tomorrow, and then my fifth class is only held on Wednesdays, so I shall have to wait ’til then to pass judgement on the full scope of my classes. The first class I had today (and every Monday, Wednesday, Friday) was the Vienna course.  There are only 10 of us, plus the teacher.  The classroom is quite small, with only one long table for all of us to sit around, so it’s going to be a nice cozy atmosphere!  And very conducive to discussions, which I’m very excited about.  We dove right in and the professor introduced us to our itinerary for when we actually travel to Vienna over spring break.  I am so estatic about this trip; I simply cannot wait!  And this first class was definitely an auspicious start to the rest of the semester!  Everyone in the class seems really nice, and since we all had to go through an application and interview process, I’m betting everyone else is as excited as I am, which is usually a rarity. 

 My second class of the day was The Classical Tradition.  My roomate and I both agreed after class that it was the most boring first class we had ever attended.  The professor talks very slowly and deliberately, and I was zoning in and out, and daydreaming, and thinking about anything but what he was attempting to communicate.  The worst part about it is that the information being taught about the Greeks and the Romans and their influences throughout history is absolutely fascinating, so I was really looking forward to this course.  But with a professor who can’t hold my attention, I’m not sure how I can make it.  I keep reassuring myself that he probably did this for the first class just to weed out the students who aren’t really interested, since the class is completely full, and therefore he will come alive later in the week.  But that little voice inside of me keeps telling me to stop dreaming…

But my third, and last, class of the day was Virtual Communities in the Anthropology department.  Just looking over the syllabus makes me really really excited for this class.  Everything on there is something that I would be willing to read on my own time!  How many classes can you say that for?  As the professor was introducing himself, I wasn’t too sure about how good he’d be, but at least he didn’t seem as bad as the professor in my last class.  Then, at the end of class, he asked everyone to introduce themselves and say why they are taking this class.  Over half the class had this guy last semester and liked him so much they wanted to take another class with him!  That is really impressive in my book!  So thanks to this combination of amazing topic and amazing professor, I’m certainly looking forward to this class.

 And the piece-de-resistance for these classes – no tests, or quizzes, or final exams!  Just papers and a final project!  Well, except for Classical Tradition which has a final exam.  But that’s it!  That’s the only test for the entire semester!  And my class tomorrow is an English class, so with any luck, it will follow the same pattern.  The only wild card here is my Wednesday class: The Built Environment.  I have absolutely no idea what to expect from it, especially since there are no books for it at the bookstore, so I can’t even begin to guess what we will be doing in it.  But that is a problem for another day.  For now, I will bask in the glory that is the two fantastic classes today and ignore that one bad egg.  For now.

Leave a Reply

