Latin is Dead and so am I

October 10, 2007 at 9:55 pm (Rants, School)

So…. I have my Latin midterm tomorrow. On Tacitus. Whom my professor keeps assuring us is impossible to translate.

The test is split up into 3 sections:

1) Prepared translation, in which we translate one of 3 passages we have read in class, chosen from about 20 passages I need to study tonight – 50 points

2) Sight translation, in which he gives us a passage we have not seen before, and we have to translate it – 30 points

3) Essay, in which we have to write a short essay examining one of the above passages in great detail – 20 points

And did I mention that we only have 75 minutes to do all this?

So I figured that I have to fully memorize the class translations for all of the passages to even hope to get 30 points on the first part. Then, seeing as how I’ve been getting B+s on the sight translations we do in class, I may get between a 20 and 25 on the second part. And finally, I’m thinking a 10-15 might be the best I can finagle on the last part.

So, after all is said and done, the best I am hoping for right now is 30+25+15 = 70, and that’s giving myself a lot of credit, or rather giving my studying tonight a lot of credit.

So, goodbye, cruel, cruel world! Thou shalt ne’er see me again after the morrow!

(and yes, I have been spending too long at Macbeth practice. Hush!)

Leave a Reply

