Why I Want to Become a Teacher

October 2, 2007 at 11:45 pm (Rants, School, The Future, Work)

So I have decided I want to become a teacher for the sole reason that I want to mold minds. I want to have an effect on future generations. Though probably not for the reasons you’d suspect…

This semester, I have the (dubious) honor of grading homework for two sections of an Elementary Symbolic Logic class (read: 60 or so homeworks to grade every other day – fun!). And every single assignment, there is a small, yet evident, percentage of those who do not detach the ruffles from when they pulled the notepaper out of their notebooks. There is also a significantly larger percentage of those who do not staple their homeworks. I have seen more creative ways to fold corners of multiple pages to keep them together than I could ever have imagined.

So what do I do? I carefully detach the ruffle along the perforated edge on each homework that has it (the easier to handle, my dear). I also staple together all the papers that were previously drifting apart, edges folded or not.

Call me OCD, but it just really gets my goat. I mean, honestly! It’s really not that hard, people.

So this is why I want to become a teacher. So I can start each year/semester with a nice speech about how my students may hate me, but I will not react well if they do not hand in their work (homework, papers, etc) without the proper format. Call me a bitch, hate me for it, I will not care. I shall stand by my decision.

I mean, by the time they reach college, students should be transitioning into the real world, right? That’s what we’re here for afterall! So I would expect my students to handle their work with a sense of professionalism. If you were to hand in an assignment, any assignment, that looked sloppy in any way, it would not be taken well. This should be taught in college, if not before. So I want to be the one to pass on my OCD/pedantic tendancies to a new generation of workers.

Sound like a good plan?

Leave a Reply

