Tetherball

July 2, 2007 at 6:39 pm (Uncategorized)

So last weekend I rediscovered one of my favorite games from when I was younger and discovered how strenuous it actually is! The name of the game is tetherball, and I believe it must have one of the easiest concepts in the world of competitive sports: you try to wrap a ball on a string around a stick. Well, its actually a pole, but I feel stick gives it that real simple-concept feel…

Anyway, now that I’ve proven I’m crazy, I shall continue…

As I believe I mentioned in an earlier post or two, some of my family, currently hailing from London, were staying with us two weeks ago into last week. So last weekend we all went into Boston to visit my aunt and uncle and their two kids there and have a nice reunion. We ended up going to their pool, which is actually behind this nice private school, and they have all these playgrounds and fields and such. Right next to one of the parking lots, I discovered the tetherball pole with accompanying rope and ball!

Now, I learned how to play tetherball the same way my mother did: at camp. Ghany has a few tetherballs scattered around the camp and when we went there for family camp years ago, I learned how to play. It really is a lot of fun, but its actually really hard. I mean, I suppose once you get the technique down, its not so much, but then again that depends on the skill (and height, I hate to admit) of your opponent, as with most any sport. We started a bit of a competition among us older kids and the adults. We were all exhausted afterwards. But it was so much fun! I’ve decided we need some tetherballs at school. Thoughts?

1 Comment

  1. Britt said,

    Yes. I’m too short = not fair.

Leave a Reply

