I’m Addic-, Addicted to…Facebook

June 29, 2007 at 8:57 am (Facebook)

So what is the big news of the day? The shooting on the T yesterday? The failed immigration bill? That movie that just came out about a rat, Ratatouille? Nope, nope, and nope. The first thing I have discussed with anyone this morning has been Facebook, or rather the current lack thereof. I got to work early, first one here, decided to waste a little time and check my Facebook, but what do I get instead of that beautiful news feed page? A message saying, “Hey, your account is temporarily unavailable due to site maintenance. It should be available again within a few hours. We apologize for the inconvenience.”

Now, this bothers me for a few reasons. First, shouldn’t they know that people need to be able to access Facebook at any time? And if they absolutely must do maintenance, they should do it at like 3 in the morning when a minimal amount of people may want to use it and the rest of the world is sleeping. But does this cross their minds? Apparently not. No, apparently 9 or 10 am is the perfect time to do work on one of my top procrastination tools! To quote Grace (with whom I was discussing this tragedy), “how am i supposed to waste my time if i dont have facebook?” Honestly! We need our procrastination tools! Our lives are empty without them! Without Facebook, who knows what we might do? We might, oh I don’t know, go outside and do something. Or perhaps update a blog. Or finish a book. Or something that is actually (dare I say it?) productive!

Now, my last complaint was obviously a bit tongue-in-cheek, but I do have an actual issue with Facebook’s “Inconvenience message.” They start it with “Hey.” Simple as that. I think I understand why they did it (my assumption being that they want to be seen as down on our level, on their users’ level) but I think it is condescending and a terrible way to start any written correspondence, except perhaps an IM conversation or a note to a close friend, i.e. something very very casual. A cardinal rule that I think everyone should be taught at some point is high school, or even college, if not before, is to never, ever, start written correspondence with “hey” or any of its associates. Outside of extremely casual correspondence, it is rude and condescending. All Facebook has to do to make this an actual message to their users is take out the “Hey” and simply start with “Your account…” The rest of the message is a perfectly fine, normal error message (I know its not actually an error message, but you get the gist). The “Hey” takes away credibility. Now, I know that this is Facebook, and considering their power, they can do just about anything they want, but I would hope that they would understand something like this and try to achieve some standard of propriety. Honestly.

Ok, rant over. I know its a little extreme, but it bothered me (obviously!). So now back to actually working perhaps. And we all know that I and millions of other people will be checking Facebook every hour on the hour to see if it is back up yet. I just hope it happens before we get a riot on our hands of productivity!

2 Comments

  1. Britt said,

    <3 Me loves you!

  2. symphonyholic said,

    same here…omg i hate facebook when i cant open my acc!

Leave a Reply

