Surprising Reaction on the Homefront

June 25, 2007 at 9:10 pm (Concord, Family)

Well, I made it home, safe and sound. Didn’t need to call my mom and have her come pick me up because I was too scared to drive home or anything. I figure that I can’t let this scare me too much or I’ll never get over it. I made it home in one piece, stayed out of the left hand lane until I needed to make my left hand turn to get home, etc.

I tried to call my mom before I left to ask her to ask everyone else in the house not to talk about it when I got home, because I didn’t want to talk about it, but it turns out that I’m glad I didn’t reach her. The reaction when I got home was infinitely better than I anticipated. Claire, my 12 year old cousin, was the first to see me, and she made a small comment, but nothing too bad. When I got inside, Duncan (11) was watching some sports thing on TV with his father, and he made a comment, to which I had no idea how to respond, but his father berated him, asking in to please show some compassion, if he was capable of it (no joke!). I really appreciated this, cause I thought that he and my dad would just make a bunch of jokes about it and make me feel worse. Instead, they really proved themselves to be on my side.

Whenever it was brought up, my parents and my uncle just kept assuring me that I would be hard-pressed to find someone who hadn’t been pulled over for speeding, saying that if I wanted, they could tell me plenty of stories. This certainly helped as well, more than I anticipated.

I kept thinking of the story I have heard so often about my aunt Selden calling up my grandfather one day, when she was a teenager I believe, sobbing, telling him that she had rear-ended a car at a stop sign or something. He told her to calm down, call the cops, they would help her, etc. Her response? “But Daddy, it was a cop!” Turns out she had rear-ended a police car, and she has never lived that one down. At least this was nothing near as bad or noteworthy.

So basically, the response when I got home was much, much better than I had anticipated and dreaded. For once, my parents, including my father, made me feel better about a screw-up situation. We shall see how I sleep tonight…

Leave a Reply

