99.9% Sure I’ve Never Been Here Before

June 25, 2007 at 2:13 pm (Concord)

This morning I had an experience that I never want to ever repeat that scared me as I never have been before, and I am not exaggerating here. I was heading to work, and there wasn’t much traffic on the highway, so I was going fast, so that maybe I could get to Alewife sooner and have time to make a call, plus I like going fast. Then I see a cop flashing his lights in my rearview mirror, pulling me over. He came to my window and told me, essentially, that I had been speeding, and accused me of trying to run away from him.

Apparently, he had been somewhere along the road with a radar gun and had seen me (though I was around quite a few other cars!) going about 80mph in a 55mph zone. He said that he had stepped out into traffic to wave me down, but I didn’t see him, so how did I know that? Plus, I admit I was going fast, but I actually realized I was going really fast and was slowing down anyway.

So he pulled me over, and I was literally shaking as I went through all the papers in my glove compartment trying to find the registration. When he went back to his car to check my information, I started crying and hyperventilating, I was so scared. I called my mom and she calmed me down a bit, but I was still scared out of my mind.

He came back, gave me the ticket and warned me to never try to run from a cop again. I wanted to scream at him that he was being unfair and that I would never do that, but I obviously couldn’t in the state I was in. Once he left, my mom calmed me down enough to get back on the road and get to Alewife safe and sound.

Once there, though, I sat in the car, called Ryan, talked to my mom again, and tried to calm down. It took a while, but I made it to work, albeit a bit late. I’m not sure how I’m going to do on the trip home, but we shall see, won’t we?

PS The title of this post is the song that I was listening to when I got pulled over. Seems like my faerie never takes a break. Guess I’ll never be able to listen to that song again. Thank you so much for ruining on of my favorite songs, angry cop dude

Leave a Reply

