Bless Your Beautiful Hide…

June 21, 2007 at 6:43 pm (Movies, Songs)

So I’m watching the special widescreen edition of Seven Brides for Seven Brothers with my sister, and I must say, I love this movie! And it leads to some interesting conversation with my sister. Very interesting.

Conversations about love and pet names and guys in the movie who look like guys in her class and mourning the death of the age of true courting, among other things. She’s decided she just wants normal pet names when her beau/husband uses them (eg honey). I didn’t really weigh in (surprise, surprise, I know!). Though she does like raising her eyebrows and making pointed comments during the sloooow love songs, which I always fast forward.

And it has been determined (by Miss Sarah) that Gideon is the favorite brother cause “he’s just so ADORABLE!” but Frank is the best dancing-wise, “cause he’s more versatile.” And the town boys are all ugly. Just thought I’d let you know.

Oh, and we also had a small discussion about beards, and how the brothers all look so much better without them and questions about if a certain scruffy acquaintance ever shaves…

“They’re out to murder you, and what do you do? Apologize for livin’!” Great line. I love this movie.

I wonder what I would do if a guy came up to me and offered me a “chaw o’ tobaccy” as a pick-up line…

“Love is like the measles. You only get it once, and the older you are, the harder you take it.” I don’t know about this one. I just don’t know…

“Can’t make no vows / to a herd of cows” Greatest line in the movie perhaps?

And I’m done for now. I love this movie! I mean, who wouldn’t love a movie about kidnapping women for a few months and then having them all fall in love and get married? Stockholm Syndrome, Hollywood style, anyone?

Leave a Reply

