Parental Control

June 15, 2007 at 9:00 pm (Family, Work)

So I’ve had my internship for 2 weeks now, and its been really busy and a lot of fun. I mean, we are a startup internet company, so things are constantly changing. We literally only opened our site to the public yesterday, so up until then, and actually even after, we have been changing the site, adding things, changing things, taking things away. I’ve worked full time days, some days even longer, one day not leaving the office until 7pm, having arrived at 9:30. Plus, there’s been the 1.5 hour commute each way. Then I was on my feet all day yesterday, socializing with eBay Power Sellers, trying to get the interested in our site, trying to get them to sign up to sell with us. And I don’t normally do that so well, so that was really hard. So basically, the past two weeks have been exhausting, but certainly interesting and enjoyable.

Then last night, I started feeling really sick, which I think was a combination of the long days, and sometimes even longer nights, plus some really bad food court food from the convention center. All I wanted to do last night was curl up in bed and be alone, but since it was my brother’s 21st birthday, I sucked it up and went out to dinner with my family. We didn’t get home until 11. I had only been home for less than 5 minutes since 8am. Since I was still feeling really sick, I emailed my boss and told him I wasn’t sure if I was going to come in the next day.

I woke up this morning, still feeling sick, still feeling exhausted, so I didn’t go to work. I took the day off. And my parents haven’t stopped making fun of me since. All day long, all I have heard from my parents are jokes about how tough it is to work full time, and how I apparently can’t handle it, and when I finally get a real job after college and have to work full time every day for years at the same job, I won’t be able to make it. I wish they would understand that I really, honestly felt sick today, and wasn’t just copping out because I was tired and just didn’t want to go. First they bother me because they don’t think I’m doing anything with my summer, then when I find a job, which I happen to greatly enjoy, they make cracks about how I’m going to get burned out before I even start or something. I am so frustrated! I just wish they would leave me alone to let me do my own thing and trust me that I’ve made the right decisions. I mean, I know that they trust me in general, but with my day-to-day decisions sometimes they just don’t let me be. And I’m sick of it and just want the summer to be over, so I can go back to school and have control over my life again, without someone criticizing me every step of the way.

Leave a Reply

