Workin’ 9 to 5, What a Way to Make a Livin’

June 6, 2007 at 6:54 pm (Work)

So I had my first official day of work at my summer internship today, and I am exhuasted! A big part of this may be that I got next to no sleep last night, for one reason or another. I really wish I could sleep better, but that’s a topic/gripe for another time. Today, I woke up at 7 am, the earliest I have woken up in a very long time, probably the earliest since I had to wake up at 6:30 for high school. I was due in Boston at 9:30. 45 minutes to the T station, then 25 minutes on the train, then 15 minutes to find the place, figure out where it was, call another of the interns to double check to make sure I was at the right place, work up the courage to ring the bell, and I was there by 9:25. Yey me!

The first thing we had to do was set up a few chairs (fun swivley ones!) and pile all five of us in the nice cramped room. Then we actually started working, set up email accounts, etc. My computer, of course, decided it didn’t want to cooperate with Outlook and the email account at first, but then it got happy again. Three hours of talking, quick lecture on privacy and making sure no one else can find out anything about what we’re doing, to the extent that the blinds in the office and the door must be closed at all times so that no one can even see the basic format of the site, much less what we’re doing. Then out to lunch. Then back to work for a few hours, then out of there around 4. Home by 6, exhausted. And ready to do it again tomorrow. Hopefully tomorrow will be shorter though. We shall see.

One upside? I got about 130 pages of my book read, round trip, so I’ll be able to catch up on my reading this summer!

Oh, and have I mentioned that I’m the only girl in the office? And apparently that could cause some friction, temperature wise. We all agreed today that women apparently are colder than men. Case in point: today, I thought it felt really nice in the office today, but everyone else was complaining about how hot it was. Wonder if that perhaps has anything to do with the fact that they’re all wearing pants and I’m in a skirt…

1 Comment

  1. Britt said,

    And ya’ll think I’m paranoid…

Leave a Reply

