Ready, Set, Go!

June 2, 2007 at 12:05 pm (Books)

So after getting only about 6 hours of sleep last night, I woke up the earliest I have in a while (not counting church): 9am. Grace and I had plans to get up early and head over to the library book sale that started at 10. We figured if we got there early, there probably wouldn’t be too many people there, and so we could have the chance to grab some good stuff before the rest of the town converged. Boy, were we wrong! The area with the tables of books was cordoned off, and there were people lined up, ready to get a chance at those books. At 10 on the dot, the people running the sale started letting people in. It was like a stampede! I have never seen anything like it! There were a few people like Grace and me, wandering around the tables, taking their time, looking at all the books, carefully choosing the ones they wanted. And then there were the vultures! They basically ran in and started grabbing books, seemingly at random, though I imagine they must have had something in mind. Less than 5 minutes after it opened, I saw quite a few people with huge stacks of books in their hands, who were going to claim a spot on the lawn, dump their first load, then go back for more. I can’t properly express how frustrating it is to be trying to look at a box of books, and have the person standing next to you start moving the top books in his box onto the box you are looking at, and then for him to just keep going down the table, methodically moving and shifting books, grabbing some, but just being a general annoyance for everyone. I mean, I obviously love books to death; I picked up quite a few books myself today, but some of these people were like hungry jackels tearing a corpse apart! I was shocked, to say the least. But I suppose we are a very literary town, and the turnout today certainly shows that.

And now I’m stuck with my never-ending dilemma: where to put all my books! My parents have stopped letting me get more bookshelves, and to be honest, I’m not sure where I’d put them, but I have stacks of books all over my room that should really be put on shelves. I really need to get a house with a nice big library, or at least built-in bookshelves, so I’ll have somewhere to put all my books! Hi, my name is Kathleen and I’m addicted to books. And that’s the story of my life…

Leave a Reply

