Disney Gave Me Unrealistic Expectiations About Love? Pshaw!

May 31, 2007 at 10:39 pm (Facebook, Rants)

Well, first let me say that Disney has been stalking me today. First, I’ve been listening to a lot of music today, and an unprecedented amount of Disney songs have come on my playlist (especially considering they make up only about 30 songs out of the entire 2126-song playlist). Then Brittany and I got into a conversation about the Disney princesses. It is currently the 70th anniversary of Snow White, which, incidentally, was the first feature-length animated movie! Anyway, Disney is coming out with its ninth princess – and she’s black! Congratulations Disney for jumping on the P.C. bandwagon!

Anyway, Brittany tested me on the names of the original 8 princesses, and I must say it took me a while to get them all – but I persevered and got them (barely)! The one that got me was Mulan, because she’s not actually a princess. But you know what? I think that makes it all that much better. I mean, Belle wasn’t a princess either, but she became one. I don’t think Mulan ever became one, just a general’s wife, which is nothing to scoff at, I suppose. But back to my original point, I think it’s great that Disney includes a non-princess in the ranks! Perhaps (warning: feminist coming out!) Disney could use this to show that any girl can be a princess, not just those who are born into it or marry into it. It’s a great message, and one that could certainly be used to mollify all those out there who take umbrage at the “unrealistic expectations” put forth by Disney. Mulan came to greatness by her courage and strength. She took it – no one gave it to her! I think this is a message that is in great danger of becoming extinct these days because of our generation’s apathy. But that is a discussion for another day – but trust me, I have a bit to say about that!

Anyway, back to my original topic: Disney stalking. The last and final bit of Disney stalking me today occurred tonight. I went to my sister’s chorus concert at my old high school and it was amazing! One of the songs was “A Whole New World” (from Aladdin, my favorite Disney, for those of you who live in a box). It started with a male soloist, and he grabbed a yellow rose and walked down one aisle while singing, and then when he neared the end of his solo, he went down on one knee in front of a random girl and sang to her and presented the flower to her, then finished his solo and went back to join the rest of the chorus, who had subsequently picked up the song. It was really sweet! And then, later in the night, one of the “heart-throbs” of the chorus (aka star of the musical, really good voice, my sister is in love, etc.) was singing “In The Still of the Nite” and part-way through the song, one of the other guys brought out a chair, and Mr. Heart-throb picked a girl from random in the audience and brought her on stage to sing to her. Suffice to say, when I next saw my sister immediately after the song ended, she was crying.

My point in all this is that perhaps the Facebook group is wrong. Perhaps its not true that “Disney Gave Me Unrealistic Expectations About Love.” Perhaps Disney is actually a sort of handbook for guys to know what we want, so they can act accordingly. I mean, yes, perhaps Disney created those desires to a certain extent, but that doesn’t mean that Disney movies can only be watched by girls and therefore only affect the female sex! Guys can (should?) watch Disney movies too, and perhaps actually enjoy them! Shocker, I know! So maybe if we all have Disney-fied expectations about love, they can come true…

Leave a Reply

