End of the Summer…

August 11, 2009 at 11:44 pm (Church, Family, School, Summer, Thesis, TV)

I’ve been so terrible at updating this this summer – tsk tsk!  So here’s a quick overview of my life in the past few weeks:

  • Had a fabulous lunch and a wonderful little restaurant the next town over with a woman from church – it was wonderful!  Love chatting with her, really reaffirms my faith!
  • Been attending Photoshop Elements workshops at the library, and having a blast!  Now, if only I had a computer with enough room for Photoshop and Dreamweaver…  Scratch that – if only I had a computer that started up in less than 15 minutes…
  • Had a surprise party for my mom’s 50th this past weekend.  My whole mom’s side of the family came into town, without her knowing, and surprised her (she cried)!  It was a really nice weekend with everyone – super busy, though, and thus exhausting
  • Finished my research for the summer, sent in a 16 page outline to my advisor, and returned all of my books to the library!  Such a sense of accomplishment!
  • Sorta, kinda, maybe haven’t really started packing for school, despite the fact that I leave on Friday…
  • Found a scholar that I think I would absolutely adore working with in grad school (as in, got a book of his out from the library on a whim, and am thinking of actually buying that one to have forever and ever and a few others from a store as soon as possible), except he doesn’t teach at any one school, and appears to do a lecture circuit in Europe and Canada…  Story of my life…
  • Meanwhile, on the mundane side, I’ve been watching the new series ‘Merlin‘ on NBC, and, as long as you don’t ask it to actually stick to the legends in any way, shape, or form, except for the names and the most BASIC plot points, is actually pretty good escapist fun!
  • Got my hair cut – trying out layers for the first time…
  • Just beat my brother and two of his friends at Settlers – I don’t think they were very happy…

And that, ladies and gentlemen of the blogosphere, is that.  Probably a heck of a lot more to report, but I fear I can’t think of a thing at the moment, so this shall have to suffice.

How is your summer winding down?

1 Comment

  1. Janet Guenther said,

    So still awake after a great Red Sox Game. They won along with a fight which is probably why they won. Nothing like some excitement to kick you into gear.
    I am excited Katie to have the privilege to write on your blog. A first for me.

    As I read it, I thought, wow, you would be good at writing a book. You should consider it.

    I enjoy our time at lunch and my dear, I enjoy our time together. So its almost 1:00am and I must be up early, so Goodnight sweet friend. love, Janet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

